STEM Action Center creation likely

I am pleased that the STEM Action Center has passed both Chambers – this will be a terrific asset and tool for the students of Idaho.

The following article was originally published in The Coeur d’Alene Press on May 4, 2014, by Brian Walker. It has been republished here with express permission from The Coeur d’Alene Press.

Many spokes have formed around Idaho’s STEM education in recent years, and a hub for those spokes is coming through the Idaho Legislature.

The Joint Finance-Appropriations Committee on Thursday agreed to appropriate $650,000 in the first year toward the creation of a STEM Action Center.

“It will be exciting to get this off the ground,” said Sen. Bob Nonini, R-Coeur d’Alene, who sponsored the bill with Rep. Reed DeMordaunt, R-Eagle. “Idaho has a lot of good things going on with STEM and this center, under the direction of the Governor’s Office, will give those a high-visibility hub for coordination and professional development.”

JFAC decided to appropriate around $200,000 per year after the first toward the action center. [Read more…]

Are you registered? Where do you vote?

This link will help you with information about registration, voting locations, etc.

Idaho Candidate Surveys Results, Ratings and Endorsements

I completed all Candidate Surveys so that the voters will know where I stand on issues. You will see that my opponent refused to complete the surveys.

Idaho Education News:

Idaho Republican Party:

Northwest Property Owners Association:

Idaho Voters Guide:

Idaho Coalition of Home Educators:

Great Video on Importance of STEM

I support more STEM Education – Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics. In 2023, there will be 2.6 million new jobs created in this country requiring a STEM Education background.

RLCID-PAC Announces Primary Candidate Endorsements

The following is excerpted from the Republican Liberty Caucus of Idaho website.

April 25, 2014 Republican Liberty Caucus of Idaho (RLCID) Releases First Round of 2014 Endorsements

RLCID-PAC, the candidate endorsement arm of the Republican Liberty Caucus of Idaho, today announced their first round of endorsements for the 2014 campaign cycle after the board of directors exhaustively spent over two weeks reviewing comprehensive candidate questionnaires, incumbent voting records, and recorded interviews and forums. Under consideration were candidates for statewide constitutional offices and state legislative seats.

RLCID-PAC is excited to be supporting such a strong group of pro-liberty, pro-business, limited-government candidates in the 2014 election cycle. These candidates worked very hard to earn the RLCID-PAC endorsement and we look forward to supporting and working with these candidates in the coming weeks. We thank all of the candidates who submitted a candidate questionnaire for consideration of endorsement.

As a final step in securing the RLCID-PAC endorsement, each candidate was required to sign the RLC Liberty Compact.

The Liberty Compact

I pledge to the citizens of this state, and to the American people, that as their elected representative I will work to restore liberty, not restrict it; shrink government, not expand it; reduce taxes, not raise them; abolish programs, not create them; promote the freedom and independence of citizens, not the interference of government in their lives; and observe the limited, enumerated powers of our Constitution, not ignore them.

For more information please contact Karen Calisterio, RLCID/RLCID-PAC Chairman –

2014 RLCID Endorsed Candidates (Round One)



Governor: Russ Fulcher
Lt Governor: Jim Chmelik
Attorney General: Chris Troupis
Secretary of State: Lawerence Denney
Controller: Todd Hatfield
Superintendent of Public Instruction: John Eynon

Legislative Positions

District 1 – Senate Danielle Ahrens
District 1 – Representative A Heather Scott
District 1 – Representative B Sage Dixon
District 2 – Representative A Vito Barbieri
District 3 – Senate Bob Nonini
District 3 – Representative A Ron Mendive
District 4 – Representative A Toby Schindelbeck
District 4 – Representative B Kathleen Sims
District 5 – Senate John Carlson
District 7 – Senate Sheryl Nuxoll
District 7 – Representative A Shannon McMillan
District 8 – Representative B Lenore Barrett
District 9 – Senate Monty Pearce
District 9 – Representative A Howard Rynearson
District 9 – Representative B Judy Boyle
District 12 – Senate Lee Rice
District 12 – Representative A Roger Hunt
District 12 – Representative B Robert Muse
District 15 – Senate Diego Rodriguez
District 15 – Representative B Jason Robinson
District 16 – Senate Joel Robinson
District 16 – Representative A Rosann Wiltse
District 18 – Senate Edward Dindinger
District 19 – Senate Tony Snesko
District 21 – Senate Cliff Bayer
District 21 – Representative A Steven Harris
District 22 – Representative B Pete Nielsen
District 28 – Representative B Lance Earl
District 34 – Senate Scott O. Smith
District 34 – Representative A Ron Nate